6 days, Toulouse to Barcelona, €250

I know what your thinking, how can this be achieved? And the simple answer to that is it can’t, well Toulouse to Barcelona is possible but I struggled on my budget!

Let me list all the things that went kinda wrong on my trip, also I’m gonna throw some positives and some tips in! .. P.S this is what can happen if you don’t plan properly.. but only got one life, so why not go for it. The more you push your comfort zone the more you will want to travel, explore, do the things that make you a bit scared!!

So, I flew into the lovely south of France, Toulouse and it was all going well. Got to a nice hostel, met some cool people, went out for food & had fun. This was my first ever hostel experience and it was good! I wasn’t as scared as I thought I’d be. I thought I would hate it and not sleep, the idea of sharing a room with like 3 other strangers was a bit scary! But when it came to the last night of my stay, I was a pro and I actually didn’t give a sh*t, I was just very happy to just have a bed and go to sleep, I slept well most nights!

So here is my first tip. Use Hostel World to book your hostels, so good for on the go travel, you just use your phone to do it. So easy and so good. I literally just booked as I went and some days that was fine, and other days I ended up literally walking the streets trying to find somewhere to stay (but that was due to lack of money not lack of rooms). Loved my life at that point, carrying a huge 20k bag in 30 degree heat. Yolo!

So the worst thing that happened to me is that I actually ran out of money after like 3/4 days, not really sure how this even happened but it did. My thoughts before the trip were like hey If I run out I can just top up online. Ummm nope. Unfortunately this situation kinda ruined a few days of my trip while I was trying to sort it.

I was using a Thomas Cook travel card (like a pre-paid card) to save having to take my actual cards abroad. *(biggest mistake I made)* Obviously laughing about it now, and I know people who would also laugh at me about this.. but at the time it was pretty bad. For reasons I don’t want to get into now, the transfer didn’t work and the money finally managed to get onto the travel card the day before I left. My reaction was like OH OK I’m gonna go spend money now, whereas before I was literally living on water and bread. It was certainly an experience I will never forget, and probably not stop smiling about.

Apart from the major f**k up. I met some cool people, stayed at many different hostels, spent most of my time in Barcelona because it’s an awesome place! Such a good vibe.

And after all that I will defo do it again, I just need to plan a little bit better for the future! Bring on the next adventure is what I say!

Feel free to ask questions, post comments etc.

Love,

Meg

x

Leave a comment